issue 3580 patch has been reapplied

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
2 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

issue 3580 patch has been reapplied

Michael Donohue
I'd like to make sure everyone is on board for the patch of issue 3580 being reapplied.  This changes the behavior of using Subversion with "use update" unchecked.  It has been done with thought, as issue 3966 has been fixed first, which provides a general purpose mechanism for cleaning the entire workspace before starting a build.   I'm concerned about the upgrade path, however, as users will get different behavior for their builds unless they turn on the functionality provided by issue 3966 manually. 


Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: issue 3580 patch has been reapplied

Dean Yu
So check me to make sure I've got this right.

The existing behavior as of Hudson 1.314 is:
* If "use update" is checked (the default), Hudson will not delete the
workspace
* If "use update" is unchecked, Hudson will delete the entire workspace

The change in question does the following:
* If "use update" is unchecked, Hudson will only delete the directories
corresponding to a previous checkout instead of the entire workspace.

In order for people to get back to the 1.314 behavior, they need to know
about the new "clean workspace before checkout" checkbox in the Advanced
section.

My opinion is that any change that alters the behavior of existing
configurations is bad. This change will seem particularly mysterious because
the option to get the old behavior back is tucked away in a different part
of the configuration page, in an Advanced section, no less.

There should be a way to do this in a backwards compatible way, probably by
leaving the old "canUseUpdate" field alone, defining a "useFullCheckout"
field that invokes the new behavior and binding the UI checkbox to the new
field. Then you'd have to add some logic to AbstractProject.onLoad() to map
the meaning of the old field to the appropriate combination of the two new
fields.

  -- Dean


On 7/2/09 10:28 PM, "Michael Donohue" <[hidden email]> wrote:

> I'd like to make sure everyone is on board for the patch of issue 3580
> <https://hudson.dev.java.net/issues/show_bug.cgi?id=3580>  being reapplied. 
> This changes the behavior of using Subversion with "use update" unchecked.  It
> has been done with thought, as issue 3966
> <https://hudson.dev.java.net/issues/show_bug.cgi?id=3966>  has been fixed
> first, which provides a general purpose mechanism for cleaning the entire
> workspace before starting a build.   I'm concerned about the upgrade path,
> however, as users will get different behavior for their builds unless they
> turn on the functionality provided by issue 3966 manually. 
>
>
>


---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: [hidden email]
For additional commands, e-mail: [hidden email]